1. #1

    How many stages will be there in IRS examination?

    dear sir
    How many stages will be there in IRS examination?

  2. #2
    gayathri77 Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012

    Re: How many stages will be there in IRS examination?

    Hi Friend.

    The stages in IRS examination or any other civil service exam comprises three stage combined process.

    Notification of the exam is in December/January.

    Prelims is held in May/June

    Results for prelims is in August first half

    Main exam is in October/November.

    Results in 2nd week of March

    Final interview is in April/May.

    Results are in May/June.

    Hope this helped you.

    All the best!!!

  3. #3
    surendermgh Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012

    Re: How many stages will be there in IRS examination?


    To Become an IRS you would be appear in Civil Services Exam conducted by UPSC.

    There are two stage of Examination:
    1. Preliminary Exam
    2. Main Exam.
    3. Interview

    1. Preliminary Exam: It will consist of two papers of objective type and carry a maximum 400 marks

    2. Main Exam: It consists of Nine Papers

    For this age should be between 21-30 years
    Relaxation for OBC 3 years and SC/ST 5 years

    Candidate must be graduate.


    For General 4
    For OBC 7
    For SC/ST No Limits

    All the best

  4. #4
    hare_rama Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012

    Re: How many stages will be there in IRS examination?

    The IRS exam is held in 3 phases:

    *Prelims in MAY..

    * Mains in NOVEMBER

    *Final Interview in april next month...

    For more details visit www.upsc.gov.in

  5. #5
    priyaa patnaik Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2013

    Re: How many stages will be there in IRS examination?

    Hello Friend,
    IRS Exam is the 4th respected exam of civil service after the IAS , IPS , IFS's.The exam conducted by UPSC once in a year.

    To become an IRS officer one can qualifying the entrance exam conducted by UPSC. The Exam consist of 3 stages:

    1.Preliminary Exam
    2.Main Exam

    In Month of May/June the aspirant have to take preliminary exam consist of 2 paper.The exam is just a qualifying exam.

    After that the final exam is held in normally month of October.

    Once you qualified the final exam the final stage is Personal Interview to test their personality & mental ability.


    1.Graduation in any discipline is the minimum qualification required to apply for the exam.
    2.Age:- minimum 21 year & maximum 30 year.
    upper age limit is relaxed by 3 year for OBC, 5 year for SC/ST & certain others.
    3.The candidate have a Indian citizenship to apply for the exam.

    Eligible candidates apply through online/offline mode.
    The application form available in any of the post offices/ head post offices.
    You can also apply through Online.

    For more information visit the website www.upsc.gov.in

    Thank You.

  6. #6
    ajmeera Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013

    Re: How many stages will be there in IRS examination?


    IRS Exam mainly 3 stages,

    ***Preliminary exam ( it will be consist of 2 papers of objective types and carry a maximum 400 marks ).

    *** Main exam ( it consist of NINE papers )

    *** Interview.

    For more information visit: www.upsc.gov.in

    All the best..............

  7. #7
    manojbadoniya Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012

    Re: How many stages will be there in IRS examination?

    IRS Stands for Indian Revenue Service that is a rank of IAS and also comes under Indian Civil Service Examination and if you want to become an IRS Officer then you should prepare for Indian Civil Service Exam and qualify all following stages that are necessary to be passed in selection procedure :

    Preliminary Examination : Two papers of objective type pattern that are - General Studies - 200 marks and
    CSAT - Civil Service Aptitude Test - 200 marks. Getting through in prelims is necessary for all aspirants

    Main Examination : Following seven papers will be conducted in conventional type pattern :

    Paper I - Essay - 2000 marks and English Language & Comprehension for 100 marks

    Paper II, III, IV and V - General Studies - I, II, III & IV - 250 marks for each paper

    Paper VI and VII - Selected Optional Subject - I and II - 250 marks for each paper

    Passing in all papers of main examination is obligatory and if you pass in 6 or less papers and failed in others then you will be disqualified from selection process but you should also know that if you could not pass prelims examination by securing minimum required qualifying marks then also you will not be allowed to apply for main examination so each stage is essential to get qualified for IRS post. After passing in all papers of main examination, you will get the call letter to face further process that is considered as toughest in this selection that contains 275 marks and if you pass in this process and your score found enough to become an IRS Officer then you will get selected but IRS rank is higher than other rank in this examination so your efforts should be higher and more to score good marks and get selected for IRS rank

    I have attached official notification for IAS Examination issued this year by UPSC so please download all and start preparing for ICS 2014

    All the best

  8. #8
    tanuj_kumat Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013

    Re: How many stages will be there in IRS examination?

    Dear Aspirant
    There are following stages in IRS exam...
    if you clear all these conditions of exam then you are in government job..
    so remember all this stages...
    All The Best

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-05-2013, 01:53 AM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 18-03-2013, 11:48 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28-12-2012, 04:40 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26-12-2012, 07:36 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29-11-2012, 08:38 PM